The Caryatids: a new book by Bruce Sterling

The Caryatids
The Caryatids (hardcover)
by Bruce Sterling
Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Del Rey (February 24, 2009)

During a speech at Mobile Monday Amsterdam, Bruce Sterling announced his next book “The Caryatids”.

According to Sterling, the book which will be published in February, is an “internet of things” book, set in the 2060’s, that “tries to describe what life is like in a working internet of things”.

Promo copy
In the vein of William Gibson’s Pattern Recognition and Neal Stephenson’s Snow Crash, The Caryatids looks at the near future and forecasts not just our problems, but incredible solutions using technology currently under development. The caryatids are three identical clone sisters: Vera, a pollution expert who’s dealing with worldwide cleanup efforts; Mila, media star extraordinaire and member of the most powerful family-firm in southern California; and Sonja, a medical specialist stationed deep within China’s Gobi Desert. All three have the brains and the talents desperately needed to save a world suffering from global warning, runaway pollution, and uncontrolled political maneuvering. Too bad their explosive family history has left them hating each other…

4 Comments

  1. […] make a note of Bruce’s forthcoming book, The Caryatids)   Leave a […]

  2. hehe very paerticular name.. “the Caryatids”.. The origins of the term are unclear. It is first recorded in the Latin form caryatides by the Roman architect Vitruvius….
    thanks for sharing the review… the book sounds interesting!

  3. […] l’atro, prendete nota del prossimo libro di Bruce, The Caryatids)   Scrivi un […]

  4. Caryatid comes from the roman word for pillar (as in structural) so i can only asssume that the three sisters are the \pillars\ in question that will hold society up so to speak.

Leave a Reply